top of page

Nikki Giovanni - Writer, Poet, Activist

As an avid reader myself, I love discovering new and interesting books to read. I have found that the best way to do this is to read books from different authors. Authors that I’ve never heard about before and even some that I have but whose genre of writing isn’t one I would normally go to.





In that spirit, I’ll be writing about a different author each week, and (hopefully) reading a new book by that person. I hope you’ll join me on my journey to discovering new favorites!


This week’s author is Nikki Giovanni. She was born Yolanda Cornelia “Nikki” Giovanni Jr, on June 7, 1943, in Knoxville, Tennessee. Nikki Giovanni was a poet, writer, commentator, activist and educator. At the time of writing this post, she works as a distinguished university Professor at Virginia Tech.


She has been honoured for her life and career by the History Makers and was the first person to receive the Rosa L. Parks Women of Courage Award.


Nikki Giovanni’s most notable works include:


1. A Good Cry


2. Black Feeling, Black Talk (These poems were inspired by the Civil Rights and Black Power Movements!)


3. Bicycles


4. Black Judgement


5. Love Poems


If you want to know more about Nikki Giovanni, you can visit her website: nikki-giovanni.com. I think I'm going to read Love Poems. I might even feature my favorite poem in the Poetry Corner!


 
 


Do you think you might read one? Which one will you read? Let me know in the comments below!


Don’t forget to follow us on social so you never miss an update!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page